How much sleep is normal for college students?

Lele’s Talk
3 min readDec 2, 2020

--

Sleeping is one of the best things in the world for humans. Just waking up from a nap or from an eight hour sleep makes you more energetic because you rested your mind and body. In college it’s a little different when it comes to sleep; most college students don’t get the satisfaction of getting enough sleep.

A image of some showing someone sleeping. Photo by :Snoring: Articles, Insights & Resources | Sleep Cycle

According to University Health Center, “On average, most college students get 6–6.9 hours of sleep per night, and the college years are notoriously sleep-deprived due to an overload of activities. Recent research on college students and sleep indicates that insufficient sleep impacts our health, our moods, our GPA and our safety.”

Some college students spoke on this matter. College student Jade De’vall stated whether she feels sleep is normal in college.

“Sleep is not normal in college, the amount I get on an everyday basis is five to six hours. That is not a lot, I’m tired right now. With final exam week coming up, it gets worse because studying and many assignments you have to do. I know so many students who are more stressed than me. Even taking an outlet like taking pills to stay more awake. Some people get addicted to that stuff , just to stay awake more when we need more sleep,” De’vall said.

A girl that looks tired doing her school work. Photo by: Irregular Sleeping Patterns in College Students | Psychology Today

In college, many students have to get jobs to provide for themselves, so college and jobs just equal barely no sleep. College student Latavion Barnes commented on what she feels.

“I mean with my job , I have to wake up early so when i get home in the afternoon, there is no time for sleep. I have to study for 4 different classes and do a lot of assignments. On a regular basis the time I get to sleep is like four to five hours. I be so tired I even sometimes slack on my school work , both failing the assignments and getting no sleep puts me in a bad mood. I really don’t know when the last time I had a decent amount of sleep, but I guess it’ll all be worth it at the end,” Barnes stated.

Girls tired in class from not getting enough sleep, from doing so much. Photo by: College Students and Sleep: Ultimate Sleep Guide for College Students (mattressadvisor.com)

It seems like the amount of sleep that’s normal for college students is four to six hours and that’s not much. Sleep seems like it’s not an option for college students, either you get sleep it or you don’t.

--

--